Mixed Spice (Apple Spice) Recipe

mixed-apple-pie-spice.jpg

I made some chelsea buns today and the recipe needed mixed spice (the apple pie spice kind) unfortunately, I only had the curry mixed spice kind..

So I got my daughter to do a bit of scouting around online to see if she could find what ingredients were in the apple pie spice.

I checked my store cupboard and I turned out I had everything I needed to make my own, so I got my pestle and mortar down off the shelf and set about making some.

You need: 

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon ground allspice
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

The aroma that comes from the freshly ground spices if far superior than any powdered pre-made stuff you can buy from the local shop.   Also, the spices I buy are all organic, which I source from the Food Co-op that I belong to on (www.neeps.co.uk).

Leave a Reply

