Organic Layers Pellets & Mixed Corn

My quest for sourcing a local supplier of Organic Layers Pellets and Mixed Corn continues…

 But in the meantime I have had to place an order with my online supplier Allen & Page.

 Which in turn led me to do the costing excercise I talked about a week or so ago, due to the increased worldwide costs of animal feeds.

Soo….

In May 2007

£3.19 for a 5kg sack of Organic Layers Pellets

£3.09 for a 5kg sack of Organic Mized Corn

July 2007

£3.19 for a 5kg sack of Organic Layers Pellets

November 2007

£3.69 for a 5kg sack of Organic Layers Pellets

£3.49 for a 5kg sack of Organic Mixed Corn

February 2008

£3.79 for a 5kg sack of Organic Layers Pellets

£3.59 for a 5kg sack of Organic Mixed Corn

In a space of a year Layers Pellets have gone up 60p per 5kg an increase of 19%.   The Mixed corn has gone up 40p per 5kg sack a 16% increase.

Its not worth my while ordering anything bigger than 5kg sacks as I only have 2 chickens and the layers pellets tend not to have a very long sell by date, and I hate waste .. this also makes it a slightly more expensive way of doing it..

One thought on “Organic Layers Pellets & Mixed Corn

  1. I use Hi-Peak organic feeds as they’re cheaper than Allen & Page, but I’m not sure if they do 5k bags. We’re lucky to have local suppliers of both as palletised deliveries to us are extortionately priced. (Yes, we buy a lot of feed).

Leave a Reply

