Homemade Butter

 

I made butter this afternoon and I cant believe how easy it is to do!

All you need is one 600ml carton of double cream.. pour the cream into a food mixer with a whisk attachment…. turn on to med-high for around ten mins…

1. First it turns to thick cream

2. Then it goes like scrambled egg

3. Then all of a sudden it comes together inside the ball whisk and seperates from the liquid, giving you butter and butter milk!

4. I seperated the buttermilk into a small jug

5. I turned out the butter onto a clean square of muslin and gave it a good squeeze, to remve the last of the buttermilk..

6. Turned it out onto a wooden chopping board and took 2 large wooden spoons to pat it into shape.

I will be using the buttermilk to make scones or muffins with later on today..

 

 

2 thoughts on “Homemade Butter

  1. Hiya Dawn…

    The butter tastes great, a comparison would be unsalted Lurpak.

    You could add some salt if you wanted.. I also found a recipe for chive butter.

    I thought about making a batch of Garlic Butter, adding fresh grushed garlic and some fresh or dried oregano, rolling it into a sausage with clingfilm, slicing it and keeping it in the freezer for when I make garlic bread. 🙂

    p.s. I have an order form made out ready for you so will send it registered mail on Saturday 🙂

Leave a Reply

