Maxine Potatoes

This evening I’ve been out in the garden planting the first batch of Potatoes into my special growing sacks..

I ordered Desiree Potatoes form Marshall’s and they ended up sending me Maxine instead because they had run out.. so I did a bit of research to find out exactly what Maxine spuds were like…

Beautiful round tubers with smooth, bright red skin.
White waxy flesh which stays firm when cooked.
A heavy cropping variety producing large tubers whatever soil it is grown in. 
The flavour as ‘excellent’ and the cookability as almost perfect.

I’m a little bit late in getting them planted, but i’m sure they’ll be just fine 🙂

 

One thought on “Maxine Potatoes

  1. I’d have to agree with the description of Maxine. I grew mine in some quite unprepared soil and did not expect much to grow but i got 2-3 decent sized tubers from each plant. Quite a surprise considering the lack of preparation and the small size of the plants. I had never heard of Maxine but i shall grow them again.

Leave a Reply

