Chocolate Loaf

This is a chocolate loaf that I made last night after I received a call from my husband, with the news that he might be stranded in Norway due to the Norwegien Airport Strikes .. you can read about it here

When a crisis hits the household, my way of coping and thinking things through is ….I go into baking mode.  I wonder how many other people do this?

Anyway, here is the recipe for the Chocolate Loaf – I made mine completely organic.

Ingredients:

  • 6oz Margarine
  • 6oz Caster Sugar
  • 6oz Self Raising Flour
  • 2oz Cocoa Powder
  • 4 Large Eggs
  • a teaspoon Organic Vanilla Extract

Method:

  1. Turn on Oven to 180 degrees C
  2. Line a 2lb Loaf tin with greaseproof paper/baking Parchment
  3. Put Margarine and Caster Sugar into the mixer and mix until pale and fluffy.
  4. Aff the eggs one at a time and mix until incorporated.
  5. Add the Self Raising Flour & Mix in
  6. Add the Cocoa Powder and Mix
  7. Add the teaspoon of vanilla extract and mix in.
  8. Spoon the mixture into the loaf tin
  9. Place into the Oven and bake for 50 mins (give it a check after 40) but mine needed 50

This is sooo much better than any shop bought cake, I know what went into it, I know I’m not filling my kids full of additives and preservatives…. but most of all its cheap to make and delicious to eat!

I was going to make a chocolate frosting for the top, but the kids couldnt wait and wanted a bit as soon as it was cool enough to handle and eat.

Enjoy 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

