Lemon & Poppy Seed Madeira Cake

050409-016

I had some lemons in the fridge that needed to get used up, so I had a browse through some recipe books and found this recipe from Nigella Lawson.

It is from her Book How to be a Domestic Goddess – isbn 0-701-16888-9

Ingredients:

  • 240g Softened unsalted butter
  • 200g caster sugar, plus extra for sprinkling
  • grated zest and juice of 2 lemons
  • 3 large eggs
  • 210g self-raising flour
  • 90g plain flour
  • 1 x 2lb loaf tin
  • 2 Tablespoons of Poppy Seeds

Method :

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 degrees C / Gas Mark 3
  2. Cream the butter and sugar, and add the lemon zest
  3. Add the eggs one at a time with a tablespoon of the flour for each.
  4. Then gently mix in the rest of the flour and finally, the lemon juice.
  5. Sprinkle with caster sugar (about 2 tablespoons should do it) as it goes into the oven.
  6. Bake for 1 hour or until a cake tester comes out clean.
  7. Remove to a wire rack, and let cool in the tin before turning out.
  8. Makes 8-10 slices.

I got distracted… and as a result I forgot to put the poppy seeds in šŸ˜€

050409-0051

4 thoughts on “Lemon & Poppy Seed Madeira Cake

  1. Hi, I’m from Italy!
    I’ve found your beautiful recipe of this Madeira Cake :)! Compliments, it looks so good and good :P!
    I have one question: how you could get these beautiful cracks on the dough? Most of all the others Madeira Cakes I’ve seen on the web doesn’t haven’t them :)! I’m curious :D!

    Bye for now,
    Jenny ^^!

  2. Hi Jenny,,

    Thank you for visiting my blog and for your lovely comments šŸ™‚

    I have no idea how you get the beautiful crack on the top of the cake, but if you follow my recipe to the letter, your cake should turn out the same šŸ™‚

    Have a lovely christmas and all the very best for the new year

  3. šŸ˜€ Really thank you for your quick answer :)!

    I just think that you have used some particular technique or trick to get the crack :D!
    Anyway, I will try this beautiful recipe and will come back with the result :D!

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year too :)!

    Jenny

Leave a Reply

