Baby Blackbird… (Turdus merula)

I have a blackbird visits my garden on a daily basis, it is lovely to look out of my workshop window and see him gathering worms and bugs … he comes up quite close too, not afraid at all…

Today he brought his newly fledged blackbird baby to visit and I managed to grab my camera and get a couple of shots before they flew off šŸ™‚

He turned around and was watching me take photographs šŸ™‚

A few facts about these gorgeous song birds…

Latin name

Turdus merula

Family

Chats and Thrushes (Turdidae)

Overview

The males live up to their name but, confusingly, females are brown often with spots and streaks on their breasts. The bright orange-yellow beak and eye-ring make adult male blackbirds one of the most striking garden birds. One of the commonest UK birds, its mellow song is also a favourite.

Where to see them

Found everywhere in gardens and countryside and from coasts to hills, although not on the highest peaks.

When to see them

All year round.

What they eat

Insects, worms and berries.

One thought on “Baby Blackbird… (Turdus merula)

  1. Lovely photos – I adore baby blackbirds, which is just as well because we’ve got a few in our garden (seven plus two sets of parents).
    They eat all sorts of stuff – Insects, worms, berries, bread, mealworms, more mealworms, yet more mealworms. We’re honorary mum and dad to a lot of them. If you have a look at my ‘birds’ catagory, in my blog, you might enjoy the stories and pics I’ve got there.
    šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

