Fresh Raspberry Jam…

I picked the last of the raspberries out of the garden today, all 175 grams of them and really fancied making some jam

Ingredients :

  • 175 grams of fresh raspberries
  • 175 grams of Jam sugar

Method:

  • take a heavy based pot and add the rasps, warm on a gentle heat to get the juices flowing and mush a few down to get them going
  • Once they are juicy add the sugar and bring to the boil then turn down the heat a bit.. cook until a soft set is reached
  • place into a sterilised jam jar
  • makes 1 x 9 oz jar
2 thoughts on “Fresh Raspberry Jam…

  1. I’ve never been able to work out how to sterilise jam jars without having a very big pan to do it in… and how on earth does one sterilise the lids (or are you supposed to use new ones?) These are things I’ve never learnt!!

    By the way, I’ve got your blog in my feed reader now.
    πŸ™‚

    • Hi Val.. apologies for not responding sooner, it’s been some week! However I’m now off work and on holiday for 2 whole weeks yipee!!

      I think everyone has their own methods when it comes to sterilising the jars, this is what I do.. I put the jam jars in the dishwasher, then when its done, I put them in a roasting tin and into the oven to dry off and heat ready for the jam…

      The lids I use the old baby steriliser I had when the kids were little, throw the lids in with the sterilising tablets, then once theyre done, they are rinsed off with boiling water.

      Hope that helps πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

