Nutty Plum Crumble

This recipe is courtesy of  “The Best of Mrs Beeton’s Christmas” ISBN 978-1-898-80176-4

Serves 4-6

Ingredients :

  • 675g Plums, halved and stoned
  • 50g Sugar

Topping :

  • 175g Plain Flour
  • 75g Butter or margarine
  • 25g Demorara Sugar
  • 1 Tsp Ground Cinnamon
  • 75g Chopped Hazelnuts, toasted

Set the oven at 180 degrees C / 350 Degrees F / Gas Mark 4   Place the plums in an ovenproof dish and sprinkle with sugar

Make the topping.   Sift the flour into a mixing bowl and rub in the butter or margarine until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs.  Stir in the sugar, cinnamon and hazelnuts.

Sprinkle the topping evenly over the plums, pressing it down very lightly.   Bake the crumble for about 45 mins, until the topping is golden brown and the plums are cooked.   Serve with custard, cream or vanilla ice cream.

3 thoughts on “Nutty Plum Crumble

  1. Hello, I have just found your inspiring blog through Sian at ‘Life on a Small Island’. Your recipes have me salivating – just the sort of cooking I love – and your photos of flowers and wildlife are enchanting. I am rather in awe of your commitment to an organic and sustainable lifestyle, too, as I’m not very good at that, having good intentions but just muddling along in family chaos most of the time. Oh yes, and I love your hand-made cards, too – something I also enjoy making! Would it be all right if I link to your blog on mine, please?

    • Hi there … thanks so much for visiting my blog 🙂

      Glad you like the recipes, I love baking, making and trying different things out, then if they’re good enough I usually stick them on here.

      We too just muddle along with life and believe me I know all about family chaos lol… our organic and sustainable lifestyle is on the whole quite good, but it has been known to drift slightly, with whatever life throws our way.

      I love making cards and stuff and my cardy making blog seems to get more action than this one at the moment, i’m just trying to get the right balance, it would be great to see some of your cards too and if you have a blog, you’ll need to let me have the link so I can follow you too. Also no problem at all linking your blog on mine 🙂

      Take care and thanks so much for popping by

      Sarah

  2. Hi Sarah, thanks very much. I don’t post anything about the cards I make (mainly because I make things so rarely these days…hoping that will change as children now at school) but you can find me at http://www.dancingbeastie.wordpress.com, for what it’s worth!

    By the way, I was noticing idly how a subject ‘cloud’ (I have one too) can throw up pleasingly surreal combinations. ‘Spaniel tomatoes’, for example…’Grow your own handmade cards’…! ;D (erm, OK, maybe it’s just me…)

Leave a Reply

