Couscous and Sausage Salad

The kids had been up at their grans for their tea tonight, so I didnt need to cook this evening for them, and I fancied something light to eat.

I had been flicking through a mag that I had picked up at my local supermarket and this recipe caught my eye, a quick check to make sure I had all the ingredients, yep, had everthing… and off I went 🙂

  

Couscous and Sausage Salad..

(For a veggie meal, you can use Feta instead of sausage)

  • Serves 4
  • Ready in 25 minutes
  • Price Per Serving £1.60

Ingredients :

  • 400g Sausages
  • 200g Couscous
  • Juice and zest of 1 unwaxed lemon
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 tomatoes, roughly chopped (I used about 12 cherry tomatoes)
  • 4 Spring Onions, sliced
  • 3 tbsp chopped parsley
  • 3 tbsp chopped mint leaves (I didnt put them in)

Method:

  • Grill or fry the sausages until cooked, then thickly slice
  • Pour 250ml boiling water into the couscous in a bowl, cover and leave for 10 minutes
  • Whisk the lemon juice and zest with the olive oil and season, then stir into the couscous (after its 10 mins cooking time)
  • Stir in the tomatoes, spring onions, parsley and mint
  • Add the sausages and serve.